Navigating the City on the iPhone

Are there decent applications for your phone for navigating on bike?

I have been told to report at the client’s site for work.  Luckily for me, they have a room with a shower and a bike rack behind their main door.   So I have started to cycle there, about 30 minutes from where I live.

It’s a new route for me, so I am having trouble navigating the place.  It’s been tricky figuring out where to go and I am on the hunt for a good iPhone app that makes use of Google Maps bike route data.

By default, I have been using Google Map’s web mobile version but it is hardly ideal because it’d be nice to have turn-by-turn direction.  

Bike Hub Cycle Journey Planner looks really nice but would only work in the UK and Erie.

Bike Hub Cycle Journey Planner

Screenshot of Bike Hub Cycle Journey Planner

Alternatively if you already know your address in Vancouver, then you could try UBC’s cycling data mobile site too.

So the hunt for the perfect iPhone bicycle navigation app will have to continue.

Leave a Reply

