Bike Friday Tikit Test Ride

On Sunday I took a trip down to Seattle and stopped by Montlake Bike Shop to test ride a Bike Friday because it’s the top running candidate for my world hitchbiking tour on a folding bike. Not only did they have Bike Fridays, but is also a BromptonDahon and Tern dealer for those of you that want to shop around.

First impressions of the Bike Friday Future Select Tikit

  • Stiffer ride because it does not have a split stem
  • Handlebar stem feels weak when you’re grinding up the hill
  • Carbon belt drive is silent
  • Shimano Nexus Inter-8 hub provides a decent range
  • At 5’4″ (162 cm) tall, I was at a tough spot between a medium and a small size Tikit and my boyfriend at 6′ (182 cm) tall was between a medium and a large.

I will have to review my initial stance as whether to take a Bike Friday Tikit around the world.  I may end up using my Brompton after all… subject to my boyfriend’s final opinion (since I need to convince him more than I need to convince myself to go on this trip).

My requirements for a world touring folder are:

  • ability to take panniers – carrying capacity of approximately 50-60L
  • be able to roll when folded
  • durability, low maintenance
  • easy to fold in a minute
  • travels well on a plane and/or a small tiny bus of a third world country

I bought my Brompton on the same day as my test ride back in 2009 on a summer day in Toronto from Curbside Cycles.  It was a staggering price of $2000 with all the options I added on top of it.  It was love on first sight.  I admit that I am now hesitant on buying a Bike Friday after the test ride.  It doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t get it.  You could say it’s a difference between a Mac and a PC.  One is well engineered but doesn’t leave much room for those who like to tinker.  The other has heaps of standardize parts and would love your personal touches on it.

Leave a Reply

